Review: 5 ingredients, 10 minutes

28 Mar

81PIP6yG5NL._SL1500_

Link

This is without doubt one of the best cookbooks I have ever bought. And if you think that I am exaggerating, go and ask Richard.

I love buying cookbooks (I may or may not have received three during the last week alone). And you all know I love healthy foods. So this seemed like a great fit. Five ingredients >> inexpensive. 10 minutes >> great after long work days (or when I come home from running at 08:30 P.M.). I had pre-ordered a copy and received it on Saturday, 2013-03-16. Imagine the scene: Late Saturday morning, Richard is having breakfast at the same table where I am sitting with a bunch of cookbooks, trying to decide what I am going to cook for the next week. (We always do it like this.) The doorbell rings, and now imagine Richard’s look of exasperation when I returned with YET ANOTHER COOKBOOK. I leafed through it and decided we would put it to the test immediately. One week trying these recipes.

Richard was doubtful. He does not really like healthy food, or at least most of it. Once he told me that McD* food is the perfect fuel for his body. Yeah, he is that kind of guy. Fortunately I do not listen to him when I make our weekly meal plan.

So far he has only said positive things about every single recipe we have tried. Obviously this is The Health Cook Book For Guys.

Having this out of the way, let’s talk about the details.

Pros:

  1. Quick recipes
  2. Healthy recipes
  3. Many of the recipes can be thrown together at the office in a hurry.
  4. Every recipe comes with at least three different recommendations to mix things up (such as vegan varieties, nut- or dairy-free varieties, carnivore varieties and such). In effect you get more than 400 recipes in this book.
  5. Huge portions

Cons:

  1. If you are like me and, for example, boil your potatoes yourself instead of using precooked, some recipes will take longer than 10 minutes.
  2. The “5 ingredients” do not include things such as oil for cooking or spices. If you are a true cooking beginner, instructions such as “season” may seem a bit daunting. But I have not felt the need to add anything but maybe a bit of salt and pepper to most dishes. (I used a bit of mustard on the Mexican beef, but that was probably necessary because I grabbed a really crappy brand of salsa.)
  3. Lots of legumes. That is not a problem for everyone (especially not for me), but Richard is extremely sensitive to them and gets stomach cramps if he eats too much plant-based protein. We are working on a remedy for that.
  4. Huge portions. Really, REALLY huge portions. Every recipe serves 2(-3), according to the book, and we can usually at least get three servings out of it, even if we are really hungry. I have to remind myself to only eat as much as feels comfortable, even thoug everyting is wickedly delicious.

One thing you have to keep in mind is that this is a healthy cookbook, and not a weight-loss cookbook. Which I do like. (At the office, there are frequent discussions about how some things cannot be healthy because of OMG THE CALORIES!) I do not even want to know the stats of the red curry with potatoes, cashews and full-fat coconut milk. It is too plain delicious to even think about that. Cheesecake cups with mascarpone and lemon curd? To die for, but not necessarily low-cal. ^^ But there are also plenty of recipes with good low-cal stats.

You are still reading this? What are you waiting for? Go and grab your copy of the book NOW!

One Response to “Review: 5 ingredients, 10 minutes”

  1. Magaly Guerrero March 30, 2013 at 1:21 am #

    Yum! I might be making veggie chili soon ;-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

